Setting User Roles

Your users can carry out different tasks based upon their role's permission levels.

 


Assigning a role to a user

Users can be managed from the Dashboard by:

  • clicking your name in the top right,
  • clicking Settings in the dropdown menu,
  • clicking Team in the left-hand menu for Settings.

From there, you can either:

  • invite new users by clicking the Invite teammate button, which will allow you to set their role,
  • or manage each user's role individually by clicking the cogwheel icon in their row.

 


What each role allows

The roles, as described in the interface, are as follows:

  • Organization Administrator: Best for organization owners and company administrators.
  • Campaign Administrator: Best for users involved in all fundraising activities but not the administration of your account.
  • Support Specialist: Best for employees who regularly refund payments and respond to disputes.
  • View only: Best for users that only need to see donation activity, use Elements and other read-only tasks. For example sub-account users, web developers, etc.

These roles enforce their restrictions by hiding or showing options by role and circumscribing button behavior in cases where things need to be visible, so it's easiest to explain the differences going area by area.

Top level navigation:

  • Organization Administrator: Can see all options.
  • Campaign Administrator: Can see all options.
  • Support Specialist: Can only see the following:
    • Donations, Recurring, Supporters, Settings
  • View only: Can see all options.

Settings page:

  • Organization Administrator: Can see all options.
  • Campaign Administrator: Can only see the following:
    • Profile, Global Elements, Designations, Checkout Questions, Installation
  • Support Specialist: Can only see the following:
    • Profile
  • View only: Can see all options, but can only Save Changes on the Profile screen.
    • Attempting to Save Changes elsewhere pops up a red "Your permission level does not allow this" message.